5 أمور مهمة لتطبيق أتمتة العمليات

نوفمبر 13, 2019

5 أمور مهمة لتطبيق أتمتة العمليات

RPA
  1. عدم الحفاظ على التواصل مع قسم تكنولوجيا المعلومات طوال عملية التسليم

لا ينبغي أن يقتصر الاتصال بها على الحصول على موافقة من البداية، بل ينبغي أن يصبح نشاطًا مستمرًا. وفي نقاط مختلفة من عملية الأتمتة الجديدة، ويستطيع الزملاء في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات أن يقدموا دعمًا حقيقيًا للحد من أي آثار تشغيلية. فعلى سبيل المثال، يمكنهم أن يتيحوا الوصول إلى بيئات التجارب لأغراض عمليات البناء والاختبار، ودعم الأدوار والتصاريح من خلال التطبيق، والأهم من ذلك معرفة التغيرات المقبلة -كجزء من دورات إطلاق تكنولوجيا المعلومات لأغراض التطبيق -التي قد تؤثر على العمليات الحية. ومن الضروري وجود تواصل منتظم معهم لضمان تنفيذ عملية جديدة بسلاسة -وبالتالي تظل عملية التواصل “المستمر” فعالة.

  1. عدم وجود استراتيجية واضحة لتطبيق الأتمتة عبر العمل التجاري

ومن الناحية المثالية، ينبغي لأي مشروع يُطبق الأتمتة أن يجعل الأعمال التجارية أكثر سلاسة وكفاءة. ومع ذلك، فبدون استراتيجية واضحة بشأن كيفية نشر عمليات الأتمتة وتطبيقها، توجد بعض المخاطر من أن يصبح مجرد قوة دافعة لوظيفة تجارية قائمة بذاتها.

ويتيح تطبيق استخدام عمليات الأتمتة الروبوتية اختيار برمجيات الأتمتة الصحيحة لتلبية الاحتياجات الجماعية للكثيرين -وليس للقليلين. على سبيل المثال، يمكن أن يشمل ذلك ربط التشغيل الآلي بالضرورات الاستراتيجية مثل ‘زيادة الكفاءة’ أو ‘زيادة سرعة الحركة’ التي حددها مجلس الإدارة. ويضمن ذلك أيضاً إمكانية دمج البرمجيات دمجًا كاملاً ضمن أطر تكنولوجيا المعلومات وآليات الدعم القائمة –مما يوفر هيكلاً أساسيًا أكثر انسجامًا.

  1. عدم معرفة التكاليف الخفية لعملية الأتمتة

ومع أن التطورات الأخيرة في سوق عمليات الأتمتة قد أزالت بعض التكاليف، إلا أنه سيكون هناك دائماً بعض النفقات الأولية لبدء عمليات الأتمتة ثم الإبقاء على تشغيله. ميزانية مرحلة البناء -بما في ذلك إمداد البنية الأساسية لتكنولوجيا المعلومات مثل قواعد البيانات والآلات الافتراضية/ المادية وما إلى ذلك, ووقت موارد تكنولوجيا المعلومات اللازم لبدء عملية الأتمتة. بالإضافة إلى حساب التكاليف الإضافية للاستشارات التي تتكبدها الشركات الشريكة.

ترتبط تكاليف التشغيل مرة أخرى إلى حد كبير بالوقت، وتتمحور حول التنفيذ المستمر للعمليات وصيانتها، وصيانة البنية الأساسية، والدعم وما إلى ذلك. وقد تنشأ أدوار إضافية بسبب عمليات الأتمتة، مما قد يزيد من تكاليف المرتبات. وكل هذا يحتاج إلى أن يؤخذ في الاعتبار أثناء دراسة جدوى تشغيل عمليات الأتمتة.

  1. عدم وضع توقعات واقعية

تُعد (الأتمتة) مجرد أداة، رغم أنها ليست الأداة الوحيدة”. ولا ينبغي أن تكون الأتمتة هي الحل “المنشود” لكل مشكلة تجارية؛ وإنما هي أحد الخيارات العديدة المتاحة التي ينبغي أن تشكل جزءًا من استراتيجية أوسع نطاقًا بشأن استخدام التكنولوجيا. ولا تزال هناك حاجة إلى التدخل البشري لإدارة الاستثناءات. وهكذا فمن المرجح أن يُؤدي استبعاد العنصر البشري تماماً من المعادلة أثناء تطبيق الأتمتة للعمليات إلى نشوء تحديات تشغيلية في وقت لاحق. سيتم التخلص من الاستثناءات بسبب عدم استيفاء قواعد العمل و/أو عدم استجابة التطبيقات كما هو متوقع. يجب أن يكون المستخدمون في متناول اليد للمساعدة في معالجة تلك الاستثناءات.

  1. عدم اختيار العملية الصحيحة للأتمتة

تحقق الأتمتة أفضل النتائج عندما تكون العمليات متكررة وقائمة على قواعد وحجم كبير ولا تتطلب أحكامًا بشرية. بينما يصبح الأمر أكثر صعوبة عندما تكون العمليات غير موحدة وتتطلب تدخلا بشريا متكررا لإكمالها -مثل التفاعل مع العملاء أو العمل مع متغيرات العمليات. وحتى العمليات التي تجتاز المعايير الواضحة قد لا تكون في نهاية المطاف أفضل “المرشحين” للأتمتة ــ على الأقل ليس في البداية. فعلى سبيل المثال، قد تُؤدي عملية الأتمتة غير الفعالة إلى التعجيل بعدم الكفاءة. ويمكن تحقيق المزيد من الفوائد إما بجعل العملية أكثر كفاءة، قبل تشغيلها آليا(أتمتتها) -أو بإعادة تصميم العملية خلال مرحلة تصميم التسليم.

من المرجح أن تُستخدم أتمتة العمليات بطريقة سلسة حيث تمر العمليات بمرحلة اختيار شاملة يستخدم فيها الموظفين، فريق تكنولوجيا المعلومات وفريق التشغيل الآلي (الأتمتة). ويمكن أن تشمل معايير الاختيار النموذجية عمليات تزداد فيها الحاجة إلى الامتثال للأنظمة وقابلية المراجعة، أو عمليات تكون فيها الأخطاء مكلفة، أو تكون فيها القدرة على توسيع نطاق العمليات مع الوصول إلى أدنى حد من التكاليف مهمة

5 important things for RPA implementation

November 13, 2019

5 important things for RPA implementation

RPA
  1. Not maintaining communication with the IT department throughout delivery

Communication with IT should not be limited to getting buy-in at the outset but become an ongoing activity.  At various points in the delivery of a new RPA process, IT colleagues can provide real support to limit any operational impacts.  For example, they can provide access to test environments for the purposes of building and testing processes, support on roles and permissions within an application, and crucially, knowledge of upcoming changes – as part of IT release cycles for an application – that may impact live processes. Regular contact with IT is important to ensure delivery of a new process is smooth – so the ‘live’ process remains operational.

  1. Not having a clear strategy for the use of RPA across the business

Ideally, any RPA project should make businesses operate more fluidly and efficiently.  However, without a clear strategy on how RPA is going to be deployed and utilised, there is a risk that it just becomes the driving force of a standalone business function.

Having a clear vision for the use of RPA ensures that the right RPA software is chosen to meet the collective needs of the many – not the few. For example, this could include linking RPA to strategic imperatives such as ‘increasing efficiency’ or ‘increasing agility’ outlined by the Board of Directors. This also ensures that the software can fully integrate into existing IT frameworks and support mechanisms – delivering a more harmonious infrastructure.

  1. Not being aware of the hidden costs of RPA

Whilst recent developments in the RPA market have removed some costs, there will always be some initial expenditure to get RPA up-and-running and then to keep it operational. Budget for the build phase – including the provisioning of IT infrastructure such as databases, physical / virtual machines etc., and IT resource time to get RPA up-and-running.  Also, account for additional consultancy costs from partner companies.

Running costs are again largely time related and centre around the ongoing delivery and maintenance of processes, maintenance of underlying infrastructure and support etc.  There may be additional roles created because of RPA, which may add salary costs.  All of this needs to be factored into business cases for RPA.

  1. Not setting realistic expectations

“RPA is a tool, not the tool.”  RPA should not be the ‘go-to’ solution for every business problem; it is one of several options available and should form part of a wider strategy on the use of technology. There is still a need for human intervention to manage exceptions.  So, taking a human user completely out of the equation through the implementation of RPA, is likely to lead to operational challenges later.  Exceptions will be thrown due to business rules not being met and / or applications not responding as expected.  Human users need to be on hand to help address these exceptions.

  1. Not selecting the correct process for automation

RPA works best where processes are repetitive, rules-based, high volume and do not require human judgement. It becomes more challenging where processes are non-standardised and require frequent human intervention to complete – such as interacting with customers or working with process variability. Even processes that pass the obvious criteria may not ultimately be the best ‘candidates’ for automation – at least not initially.  For example, automating an inefficient process, can potentially only speed up the inefficiency.  More benefit could be gained from either making the process more efficient, prior to automating – or by redesigning the process during the design phase of delivery.

A smooth RPA implementation is more likely to result where processes have gone through a thorough selection process using personnel the Business, IT and the RPA team. Typical selection criteria could include processes where there is an increased need for regulatory compliance and auditability, processes where errors are costly, or where the ability to scale up operations whilst minimising costs is important. Establishing clear selection criteria, and having relevant approval to proceed with automation should be the best route to success.